The Mysteries of In-betweens or “The Mysteries of hidden spaces” (revised)

I wonder if a holy ground

is in this city

somewhere grandiose

divine

Somewhere among this chaos that surrounds me

where I could stand just fine

Where the people of the abused calloused and cracked streets

would strip their thick cracked creased jordans

remove ragged rubbered nikes

and stand barefoot

in a land no one stands barefoot anymore.

Somewhere in the desert God spoke to Moses

brought him to a place

where the sandals on his feet would only keep him far too far from Gods presence

far too far from God’s grace

And he dared to question and tried to stammer

Why a stuttering man like me?

Holy ground.

Tell me how is something like that peace so confounded ever found?

If anywhere if everywhere it can pervade

mountain un-plated and sidewalk un-paved

I wonder if it would reside in this city.

Or even near me

Someone so ignorant unknowing, Just desiring its voice and eager for its sound

Peace wispered as hidden and yet known only to be within

In those in-between graces and mysterious places I just don’t go.

somewhere among the millions of bodies

holding millions of souls

Could there even be a place no one has quite found?
So the voice echoes: Remove your shoes,
for this is holy ground.

Leave a comment